Stuart Bingham

Ball Run

2015 World Champion

World Ranking


Money List Earnings


One Year List Earnings




Date of Birth


Turned Pro



147 - 9 times

WST High Break




Stuart Bingham achieved a lifelong dream in 2015 by defeating Shaun Murphy 18-15 to become world champion for the first time at the age of 38.

The Englishman has won six ranking event titles to date and in 2020 claimed his second triple crown success with victory at the Masters, defeating Ali Carter 10-8 in the final. Achieved at the age of 43 year and 243 days, the victory saw him become the oldest ever Masters champion, surpassing the previous record set by Ray Reardon.

He won his first ranking event title after 16 years as a professional at the 2011 Australian Goldfields Open, defeating Mark Williams 9-8 from 8-5 down in the final.

Early in his career he rose to prominence by defeating defending champion Stephen Hendry on his debut at the World Championship in 2000, before missing the pink on his way to what would have been the fifth 147 at the Crucible Theatre two years later.

Bingham is the only player to have won the Masters Qualifying Event twice during his career (2005 and 2006) and is one of only four players to have compiled nine or more maximum breaks during the course of his career.

He reached a career-high world ranking of number two following his World Championship success, a position that he held until March 2017.

During his amateur career he won both the World and English Amateur Championship titles in 1996.

World Champion

The crowning moment of Bingham’s career would come at the iconic Crucible Theatre in 2015 as he defeated Shaun Murphy 18-15 to become world champion.

Following early victories against qualifier Robbie Williams and 2006 champion Graeme Dott, Bingham scored a sensational 13-9 victory against Ronnie O’Sullivan to reach the semi-finals for the first time in his career.

A deciding-frame victory – the first in a semi-final at the venue for eight years – against Judd Trump secured his place in the final, where he would defeat 2005 Crucible king Shaun Murphy 18-15 to lift the trophy.


Away from the baize Bingham has been married to wife Michelle since 2013 and the pair have two children together.

Career Honours

WST Ranking Event Titles (6)

  • 2018/19: English Open, Gibraltar Open
  • 2016/17: Welsh Open
  • 2014/15: Shanghai Masters, World Championship
  • 2011/12: Australian Goldfields Open

WST Minor-Ranking Event Titles (4)

  • 2014/15: Haining Open
  • 2013/14: Dongguan Open
  • 2012/13: Zhangjiagang Open, Zhengzhou Open

Professional Non-Ranking Event Titles (5)

  • 2019/20: Masters
  • 2014/15: Championship League
  • 2012/13: Premier League
  • 2006/07: Masters Qualifying Event
  • 2005/06: Masters Qualifying Event