WPBSA Players Statement | 18 May 2024

Home » WPBSA Players Statement | 18 May 2024

Following a meeting of WPBSA Players held yesterday (17 May 2024) it has been announced that Shaun Murphy has been elected as chairman of the WPBSA Players Board.

Former world champion Murphy, who joined the WPBSA Players Board in December 2023, will take over from Ken Doherty who has held the position since 2021. Doherty will remain on the Players Board and continue to play an active role.

Shaun Murphy said: “I’m extremely humbled to have been proposed and subsequently voted in today as Chairman of WPBSA Players by my fellow board members.

“I’d like to thank our previous Chairman Ken Doherty for his leadership and guidance and thank him for the integrity and professionalism he has brought to the position. I will endeavour to follow in his footsteps and bring those qualities, along with some of my own to the role.

“My fellow directors and I look forward to continuing to strengthen our partnerships within the world of snooker as we work together with WST and WPBSA.”

During the meeting Matt Selt was also appointed as vice-chairman of WPBSA Players.

Murphy and Selt were elected by the membership at the WPBSA’s Annual General Meeting in December along with Mark Davis, who joined Doherty and Nigel Bond as Player Directors.

Jason Ferguson will continue as Chairman of the WPBSA Group of organisations tasked with the global governance of the sport and its overall development.

“The WPBSA looks forward to working with Shaun and his team on the Players Board. Shaun is the consummate professional and has great passion for snooker. I have no doubt that he will serve the best interests of the members during this exciting time in our sport.

“I must thank Ken for his service as the inaugural Chairman of WPBSA Players. Ken oversaw a period of major constitutional change for our players body and I am sure will continue to support the membership moving forwards.”

Learn more about WPBSA Players.