WPBSA Qualifiers Announced for MrQ UK Championship

Home » WPBSA Qualifiers Announced for MrQ UK Championship

The WPBSA and World Snooker Tour (WST) have today confirmed the elite amateur players who will compete at the 2023 MrQ UK Championship having earned their places through recognised WPBSA pathways.

As in 2022, the first Triple Crown Series event of the season will feature a tiered format, which will see the top 16 seeded through to the final stages, to be held at the York Barbican from 25 November – 3 December 2023.

The remaining players will compete in the qualifying rounds in Leicester from 18-23 November, with 16 players set to progress to the last 32.

WPBSA Qualifiers

This season’s field will include up to 16* players to have earned their places through new pathway opportunities for elite performers through activities staged and coordinated by the WPBSA Group.

*This number is subject to the total number of professional entries received. Should all 129 current professionals enter, there will be 15 places awarded to the WPBSA.

Confirmed Players:

WPBSA Q Tour UK/Europe

Winners from the world’s premier secondary tour to the World Snooker Tour so far this season:

  • Liam Davies – WPBSA Q Tour – Event 1 winner
  • Michael Holt – WPBSA Q Tour – Event 2 winner
  • Umut Dikme – WPBSA Q Tour – Event 3 winner

WSF Championships 2023

Eligible semi-finalists from the world’s largest international amateur tournaments, champions/runner-ups having already earned two-year tour cards:

  • Yang Gao – 2023 WSF Championship semi-finalist
  • Iulian Boiko – 2023 WSF Junior Championship semi-finalist
  • Filips Kalnins – 2023 WSF Junior Championship semi-finalist

Highest performing UK/EBSA juniors

  • Ryan Davies – EPSB English Under-21 Champion 2023
  • Oliver Sykes – EPSB English Junior Tour No.1 (after two events) 2023/24
  • Robbie McGuigan – Northern Ireland National Champion 2023
  • Joel Connolly – Northern Ireland Under-21 & Under-18 Champion 2023
  • Riley Powell – Welsh Under-16 Champion 2023
  • Oliver Briffett-Payne – Welsh Under-18 Champion 2023
  • Amaan Iqbal – Scottish Under-21 Champion 2023
  • Jack Borwick – Scottish Under-18 Champion 2023, EBSA Under-18 Champion 2023
  • Bulscu Revesz – EBSA Under-18 Champion

Should fewer than 129 professional players enter the event, Craig Steadman will be the first reserve player as the next highest ranked player on the Q Tour UK/Europe Rankings after Event 3.

Any remaining places in the draw will be taken from the 2023 WST Q School Order of Merit.