Champion of Champions 2019 – Shanghai Update

Home » Champion of Champions 2019 – Shanghai Update

Reigning world women’s snooker champion Reanne Evans is now assured of her place at this season’s ManBetX Champion of Champions following victory for Ronnie O’Sullivan at the Shanghai Masters last Sunday.

With defending champion O’Sullivan already safely qualified for the event, there are now just three remaining counting events between now and November, meaning that 13th placed Evans cannot now fall outside of the 16 qualifiers.

“It’s brilliant news and pretty local to me as well!” said 12-time world champion Evans. “To be involved in an event like that of such high quality is great. I’m going to enjoy it and just stick in there.”

“I’d like to play Ronnie [O’Sullivan] I think. I know I shouldn’t be saying that, but because I have played against him a couple of times in exhibitions and played with him, I would feel more comfortable with him. Being in that environment that I am not used to at all, hopefully it might settle me. But you are just happy to be playing anyone. I’m just really looking forward to it.“

The next player currently in line to qualify is recently crowned seniors champion Jimmy White, with just one more ‘repeat’ winner needed from the remaining three counting events. In the event of there being two or more repeat winners, the field will be completed by players based upon their world ranking, with Mark Williams and Mark Selby currently in contention.

Qualification for the event will be determined by the winners of professional tournaments dating back to Ronnie O’Sullivan’s victory in 2018, events having been ordered in a specific line of priority as set out below.

Current qualification list:

1. 2018 Champion of Champions – Ronnie O’Sullivan (1)
2. 2018 UK Championship – Ronnie O’Sullivan
3. 2019 Masters – Judd Trump (2)
4. 2019 World Championship – Judd Trump

5. 2019 German Masters – Kyren Wilson (3)
6. 2019 World Grand Prix – Judd Trump
7. 2019 Indian Open – Matt Selt (4)
8. 2019 Players Championship – Ronnie O’Sullivan
9. 2019 Championship League – Martin Gould (5)
10. 2019 Tour Championship – Ronnie O’Sullivan
11. 2019 China Open – Neil Robertson (6)
12. 2019 International Championship – Judd Trump
13. 2019 Shanghai Masters – Ronnie O’Sullivan
14. 2019 China Championship – TBC
15. 2019 World Open – TBC

16. 2018 Northern Ireland Open – Judd Trump
17. 2018 Scottish Open – Mark Allen (7)
18. 2019 Welsh Open – Neil Robertson
19. 2019 English Open – TBC

20. 2019 Gibraltar Open – Stuart Bingham (8)
21. 2019 World Championship runner-up – John Higgins (9)
22. 2019 Riga Masters – Yan Bingtao (10)

23. 2019 World Cup – John Higgins
24. 2019 World Cup – Stephen Maguire (11)

25. 2019 Shoot Out – Thepchaiya Un-Nooh (12)
26. 2019 Six Red World Championship – Stephen Maguire
27. 2019 World Women’s Snooker Championship – Reanne Evans (13)
28. 2019 World Seniors Snooker Championship – Jimmy White

The next counting event to qualify for this year’s ManBetX Champion of Champions will be the Evergrande China Championship, which runs from 23-29 September 2019 in Guangzhou, China.

Learn more about the ManBetX Champion of Champions at the tournament website.