WPBSA Annual General Meeting 2021

Home » WPBSA Annual General Meeting 2021

The World Professional Billiards and Snooker Association (WPBSA) has today (Tuesday 14 December 2021) held its Annual General Meeting during the Cazoo World Grand Prix at the Coventry Building Society Arena.

Ken Doherty stood unopposed for re-election as a director of WPBSA Players and was successfully re-elected by the membership for a further four years. He will continue to serve alongside Nigel Bond, Ding Junhui, Mike Dunn and Peter Lines.

It was also announced that Nigel Mawer QPM will continue as WPBSA Vice Chairman and as a governance director responsible for all integrity issues, also for a further four years.

The AGM also saw the Accounts and Directors Report, including the latest independently audited accounts, presented to the membership and they were unanimously accepted by the meeting.

Jason Ferguson, WPBSA Chairman said: “I would firstly like to congratulate Ken Doherty following his re-election as the Chairman of WPBSA Players.

“Ken remains one of the most recognisable faces in our sport almost 25 years on from becoming world champion and with almost a decade of experience behind him on the Board of the WPBSA, he has the ideal blend of experience to lead our players body over the next four years.

“I am also pleased to be able to confirm the reappointment of Nigel Mawer QPM to the Board, a position that underlines our commitment as a sport to upholding integrity and providing strong governance.

“Finally, it was also heartening to be able to see our players again during these difficult times following last year’s AGM which was held via Zoom and to facilitate healthy discussions among the members present with regards to wide range of topics within our sport.”

The Full AGM results were:

Accounts and Directors Report unanimously accepted by the meeting.

Ken Doherty 22 for, 5 against to be re-elected to the Board of WPBSA Players.