Joe Perry

The Gentleman

Two Ranking Titles

World Ranking


Money List Earnings


One Year List Earnings




Date of Birth


Turned Pro



145 - 2 times

WST High Break




Joe Perry ended a 23-year wait for his first professional title at the 2015 Players Championship Grand Final by defeating Mark Williams 4-3 in Thailand.

The victory saw him earn a career-best £100,000 and followed a consistent run of form which previously saw him reach the final of the Wuxi Classic earlier in the season, as well as claiming his first minor ranking event titles at the 2013 Yixing Open and 2015 Xuzhou Open tournaments.

In 2022, he defeated Judd Trump 9-5 to win his second ranking title and first on UK soil at the Welsh Open. Prior to the title match, he saw off an all-star field of David Gilbert, Cao Yupeng, Mark Allen, Kyren Wilson, Ricky Walden and Jack Lisowski on his way to sealing the biggest win of his career to date.

Perry has reached six ranking event finals in total and in 2017 defeated Stuart Bingham, Ding Junhui and Barry Hawkins – the latter 6-5 from 2-5 down – to reach the final of the Masters for the first time, losing to Ronnie O’Sullivan.

He is a former semi-finalist at both the World (2008) and UK Championship (2004 and 2005) tournaments and in December 2016 reached a career-high world ranking of number eight.

In 2004 he made a break of 145 at the World Championship, the highest of his career to date and during the same tournament he also ended the reign of defending champion Mark Williams with a 13-11 win in the last 16.

Perry is also notable for being the first winner of the Championship League in 2008, a victory which saw him qualify for the Premier League the following season.

In recent years, Perry has been a regular part of the BBC’s television coverage of snooker in the UK.

Career Honours

WST Ranking Event Titles (2)

  • 2021/22: Welsh Open
  • 2014/15: Players Tour Championship Finals

WST Minor-Ranking Event Titles (2)

  • 2014/15: Xuzhou Open
  • 2013/14: Yixing Open

Professional Non-Ranking Event Titles (1)

  • 2007/08: Championship League