WPBSA Launches Players Commission

Home » WPBSA Launches Players Commission

The World Professional Billiards and Snooker Association (WPBSA) has today announced the creation of a new Players Commission, replacing the previous Players Forum.

The new body will be chaired by world number five Shaun Murphy, who will be joined by fellow professionals Ken Doherty, Alan McManus, Mark Davis, Mark Williams, Mark Allen, Joe Perry, Rory McLeod and Peter Lines.

The Commission will effectively act as a player’s union, where any player can take any issues, concerns or ideas, at any time.

WPBSA Chairman Jason Ferguson said: “As the governing body for snooker and billiards worldwide it is crucial at the WPBSA that we have a real understanding of the views and opinions of our membership. It is therefore important that there exists an appropriate and credible platform from which these opinions can be communicated and I believe that the new Players Commission provides this.”

Players Commission Chairman Shaun Murphy added: “I am thrilled to be able to take up this new role and look forward to working with my fellow players to ensure that the interests of those across the ranking list are represented equally.

“I would encourage all players to be proactive and to come to us with any concerns, ideas or suggestions so that we can help. The Players Commission seeks to be a much faster, proactive version of the Forum it replaces and together with all members of the Commission, are available to you at any time.”

Learn more about the Players Commission.